John T. Conway, Chairman

A.J. Eggenberger, Vice Chairman

Joseph J. DiNunno

John E. Mansfield

Jessie Hill Roberson

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 694-7000



January 20, 2000

The Honorable Bill Richardson Secretary of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, D.C. 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Richardson:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to announce its unanimous decision to recognize Mr. Joseph F. King from the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Defense Programs with this year's Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board Safety Leadership Award. The Board established this award in 1999 to recognize individuals whose leadership in safety management has been an important mechanism for progress toward our mutual end of a productive and safe DOE complex. The late Victor Stello, Jr. was the first recipient of this award which has now been designated as the Stello Safety Leadership Award.

Mr. King's effective leadership and sustained superior performance in preparing facilities for startup, upgrading and assessing safety management programs, developing nuclear safety directives and mentoring line managers on performing critical self-assessments were significant contributors to Integrated Safety Management (ISM) improvements in DOE. Mr. King has set the standard for how to lead complex, multi-disciplined safety reviews and his performance exemplifies the qualities of safety leadership the Board envisioned when it established the award.

In addition, the Board would like to mention the outstanding safety management contributions from other key individuals: Mr. Frank R. McCoy III for his leadership in the development and implementation of DOE's plan for ISM and the sharing of successful efforts at the Savannah River Site with other DOE sites, Dr. Bruce Matthews for playing a key role at the Los Alamos National Laboratory in developing and demonstrating the effective use of ISM in the conduct of activities using nuclear materials in a weapons laboratory setting, and Mr. Richard M. Stark for his dedication and perseverance in the development of guides for implementing the functions and principles of ISM. The Board also wishes to recognize the exceptionally effective liaison activities of Mr. Mark B. Whitaker, Jr. and Mrs. Ellen A. Livingston-Behan.

I hope that you will inform DOE employees of Mr. King's receipt of this award and also convey our thanks and recognition to those mentioned for their outstanding contributions to safety in the DOE complex.

Sincerely,

John T. Conway

Chairman

c: Mr. Mark B. Whitaker, Jr.